Feeling a bit better

This week has been much better than last.  I’ve been up and around and even took a walk through the mall today.  I came home and slept for 4 hours after that, but still, it’s progress.

The moods have evened out quite a bit, as well.  I was thinking this morning that the waves of moods remind me of boogie boarding.  When I was about 20 or 21, my friend Mike and I used to go boogie boarding off of Newport Beach at night.  It was great fun and far more entertaining than riding during the day.  During the day you can lay in the water and watch for the waves in come.  At night, that’s not the case.  You can’t see the water coming unless there is a full moon.  So you have to point your board in the direction you want to go, feel for the wave to come, and then kick like the dickens.  That’s what I need to do when the depression hits.  I have to make sure I’m facing the right direction and hold on for the waves.

I start chemo again on Monday.  It’s less than half the dosage than before so the effects shouldn’t be nearly as bad.  I’m also set to start student teaching next Wednesday, so we’ll see how that plays out as well.

One response to “Feeling a bit better

  1. Ohhh, nice analogy. Have a great time student teaching. I am sure it will be cool to practice your skills.

Leave a Reply

