Goodbye to a friend

I know I promised lots of pictures and jokes today, but sadly I learned of the passing of a dear, dear friend in San Diego this morning. 

Jeri and I became fast pals after we were both laid off from the same company.  We took to updating resumes and carpooling to job interviews together.  In between the interviews were many, many, many hours of Scrabble and Backgammon along with side-splitting, gasping for air, peeing in your pants laughter. 

Last month when I learned of Jeri’s heart trouble, I called to talk with her.  At first she disreguarded my tale of cancer.  She assumed I was telling her a joke to try to take the sting out of her own medical issues.  She soon realized I wasn’t joking but neither one of us could resist playing Can You Top This with our illnesses.  She said knowing what I was going through made her situation seem less serious than she was making it out to be.  We talked about the importance of keeping a sense of humor through things that seem to be overwhelming. 

I’m saddened by the fact that I won’t be able to pay my respects at her service. 

Today was her birthday.

Leave a Reply

