State of mind…

I’ve really tried not to be much of a complainer throughout this whole process.  I think I’ve done relatively well.  I can handle the surgeries and having to stay home for a few days, all of that is fine.

But, seriously…… DO THEY REALLY NEED TO ADD SUPERGLUE TO THE BACK OF EVERY STRIP OF TAPE IN A HOSPITAL?????

Geez…first they taped the IV….um, yeah, I’m a girl….but I still have some hair on my arm, or at least I did.  Then they used some form of brick mortar to attach the bandages holding in the locator wire in my chest wall. 

As I was getting ready to leave the hospital the nurse started to pull the tape off my arm, noticed that I was squirming and actually chuckled, or maybe chortled, before pulling the tape off fast.  Contrary to what everyone says, pulling bandages off quickly is nowhere near a better plan.  The only good plan is perhaps soaking for 30-45 minutes and hoping the adhesives ease up. 

I go for the first follow up appointment with Dr. Chest tomorrow.  Hopefully that will be end of the duct tape holding gauze pads to my midsection.  I can already picture the hammer and chisel he’ll be using.  Similar to something Fred Flinstone used, no doubt.  Good grief, they need to suggest NASA use this stuff.

2 responses to “State of mind…

  1. Hi Heather,
    I am so happy that everything went so well ( sorry about the bandages–regular ones are awful–I cannot imagine hospital grade).

    You have amazing strength and courage, and despite all you are faced with you continue to be such an inspiration. You are so brave.

    I hope you can attend class soon. It will be great to see you!

    Sincerely,
    Bryndi

  2. LOL! They must use the same super glue here. After my c-section I took off the bandage along with a huge chunk of my stomach. Anyone need a skin graft?

Leave a Reply

