Is that your final answer or do you want to phone a friend?

I’ve made the decision to stay in Idaho for surgery and treatment.  The first surgery is scheduled for Monday.  Dr. ENT will be removing the tumor from my scalp and the in-situ from my cheek.  A second surgery is scheduled for Wednesday, if needed.  Friday morning will be the bigger surgery with Dr. Chest doing  the tumor removal from my chest wall and Dr. ENT doing the closing and reconstruction of my scalp and cheek. 

I’ve debated and struggled with the decision for the last week.  I became so emotionally exhausted by the entire process.  Eating anything was painful.  Each time the food reached my stomach I felt like I was being punched.  I think I even lost my sense of humor for a while. 

That being said, I’m just ready to get on with this thing.  I meet with Dr.  Z one last time tomorrow morning to go over a few more details and then we get started. 

I still have a few stories that I haven’t included yet, so I’ll try to include those over the next few days.  Depending on how I feel, I may have Mom write some updates as well. 

Thanks to everyone who has helped over the last month!  All of the cards, emails, phone calls, gifts and meals have been amazing!!!  Some folks have said they were hesitant to call or write… there’s no need to feel that way.  I’ve really appreciated hearing from everyone!  The personal stories have particularly touched me.  There’s so much honesty and intimacy in these stories.  They have been the ultimate in encouragement.   I also want to say thanks to the people who are helping to take care of my family while all of this is going on.  I’ve had wonderful conversations with Grandma about all of this, but there is really no way for me to help Nana understand and I REALLY don’t think it’s helpful for me to even try to explain any of this to her.  With my family spending so much time in Idaho over the next month, I end up in tears each time I think about Nana not having Mom to visit her each day and having no way to understand why no one is there to see her.  Its fun for me to talk with her now… she’s so proud of how the well the Angels are playing.  We spoke earlier of playoff hopes this year and I love hearing the “WOW” from her when I tell her they have a 15.5 game lead. 

For now, I have to go vacuum… Mom is coming on Sunday.

4 responses to “Is that your final answer or do you want to phone a friend?

  1. Hi Heather,
    I’m so happy that you finally worked through the decision process! I can only imagine how stressful that must have been. Personally, I was voting for Dr. ENT and the Boise treatment plan. Don’t underestimate the quality of medical treatment in Boise. Even though it’s not as well known as the larger cities, we get a lot of the best docs who come here for the lifestyle.
    Let them do their job and buckle up for the ride.
    See you soon,
    John

  2. Heather my Hero!

    I visited nana twice today spending as much time as I could to explain that first I am on a business trip Thursday and Friday and then I leave for Idaho for two weeks to be with Heather. She sort of thinks you and I are taking a vacation and I thought to myself, yup, we are…a vacation from doing my hair, wearing makeup and some days, maybe not even getting dressed! The remainder of “our” vacation, I’ll be taking care of “my hero”. I love Heather and I too am at peace with your decisions. Idaho, here I come!

  3. Hi Heather,
    Thank you for being so willing to share your thoughts and put yourself out there. I am happy that you have such a great support network and that you are able to spend so much time with your family to determine your best treatment. Dr. Z is an amazing person. As I told you I went to school with him and understand the depth of his character. If I found out that I had cancer I would go to him hands down out of any doctors I know. Also, if this gives you any peace of mind, my husband’s father is a dermatologist and he said absolutely remove everything as soon as possible. He deals with melanoma patients daily. You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers, and I am so happy that your spirits continue to be so positive (and I love your sense of humor). I am really looking forward to seeing you soon, and I am so glad you are staying in Boise. You’ll have to put up with all of us!!!
    Much Love,
    Bryndi

  4. Heather…You are so effing brave but I know that you will come out of this with a few neat battle scars and a helluva story. But what is most important, you will be coming out of it clean as a whistle. I hope nothing but the best and those doctors better take damn good care of you. Hope to hear from you sometime!

    ~Monique

Leave a Reply

