Think happy thoughts….

I refuse not to continue to have fun.  For the last couple of months I’ve been working with the Boise River Volunteers.  In the beginning I was just having fun cleaning up the river and hopefully helping a few folks, now it’s become one of my favorite ways to relax and enjoy what I think is one of the best parts of this city.  It’s become completely therapeutic (that is… as long as I continue my non boat-flipping streak). 

 

Check out my UV rated SPF outfit !!!

Check out my UV rated SPF outfit !!!

 

 

Since I didn’t have any doctor’s appointments over the weekend, I thought I’d take some time to write about the organization. 

The BRV spends countless hours on the river each week during the summer.  Each Friday, Saturday, and Sunday a group of volunteers will meet at Ann Morrison Park, carpool up to Barber Park and the day begins.  We take hundreds of pounds of trash off the river each weekend.  Everything from simple cans and bottles to bicycles, picnic tables and crazy items no one would ever imagine.  Along with the trash removal, we’re also performing countless rescues, patching and pumping boats, and taking care of some of the dangerous landscaping. 

It’s always a full day (last night we didn’t get to our dinner destination until after 8pm) and always a good time.  I wanted to spend as much time as possible this weekend thinking about anything other than cancer and working with the BRV did the trick.  Here are a couple of links to the BRV website…..

http://www.uplandidaho.com/bio_cons/volunteers.wmv

 www.riverhelpers.com

3 responses to “Think happy thoughts….

  1. I read your blog on Jay’s site. Know that my prayers are with you! Becky

  2. Hey, If I get the chance, I would LOVE to go on one of these “Boise River Volunteeringismness” trips with you sometime…

  3. Heather!! you are AWESOME!!!
    I’m pretty sure we will have your Kemo boat for you this comming season.
    We all miss you and you are in our hearts!

    Now hurry up and come back ,clad in your UV rated SPF outfit we got you!!

Leave a Reply

